Schengen Visa


If your country is not part of the ETIAS eligible visa waiver countries, it means that you will most likely need a Schengen visa. Learn more about traveling to Europe with a Schengen visa.

Information about Schengen Visa Countries

26 countries in total form the Schengen Area by entering into a mutual agreement to allow the free movement of all Schengen nationals, remove internal borders and strengthen the external ones. 22 of those countries are European Union members, while the other 4 are part of the EFTA (European Free Trade Association).

  • The Vatican
  • Monaco
  • San Marino

Schengen Area

Currently, there are 22 European countries that
form part of the Schengen Area:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • France
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Estonia
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Hungary
  • Slovenia
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Czech Republic
  • Malta

Non-EU Member States:

  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Switzerland

Micro-States de facto part of Schengen Area:

  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Vatican City

Border crossing

The ETIAS will only pre-screen travelers not needing a Schengen Visa. The screening would pertain to terrorism or migration related risks. The objective is to identify individuals who pose security threats before they are able to travel to the Schengen area.


Smart Borders

ETIAS is not a visa; it is a visa waiver, similar to the U.S. ESTA and Canadian eTA. Travelers currently visiting European Member countries visa-free will require an ETIAS from 2021 onwards. Passport holders of the EU single market are exempt from ETIAS.


Short-stay 90 Days visa

Convenience – Reduce border wait-times for travelers and streamline entry into EU member states.
Border efficiency - Improve border management for security personnel screening travelers upon arrival and departure from EU member states. Transparency - Help the EU toward achieving its goal of a visa liberalization policy that would enable citizens of more countries to enter the EU without the need of a Schengen Visa.


Airport Transit visa

Immigration - Enable border authorities to spot migration irregularities and abuse of visa-free EU travel.
Security – Help EU member states strengthen their border security processes and procedures against crime and terrorism.
Funding – Provide an additional source of revenue for the EU budget as well as for managing visa-free travel of business, tourism and transit visitors.


Long-stay visa

ETIAS is only relevant to travelers who travel visa-free to EU member states. The application process is aimed at taking approximately 10 minutes or less. The website processing ETIAS applications will support mobile, desktop and mobile devices. The types of information requested include: Biometric and personal data such as name, date of birth and gender Applicant contant details such as home address email address